Big Print Blog

Why are we calling this blog "Big Print"?

Because we want to shed some light on the small print you see in financial documents. By pulling back the curtain on how a credit card company really works, we can work together to be better.

JaredY avatar
A Kind of Blue? The Barclaycard Ring Plastic
Barclaycard Ring Public Blog

From what I’ve read, Miles Davis was one cool customer. I actually experienced a small sliver of his cool-ness a while ago. Right after I graduated from college, I got a new credit card through First USA Bank (now Chase) and it had a super cool image of Miles Davis on the front. First USA was promoting a jazz lifestyle product and I couldn’t pass it up. I loved pulling that card (or “plastics” as we call them) out of my wallet. I’m not exaggerating when I say that 50% of all people who I passed it to commented on how cool the plastic was. It often led to interesting and pleasant conversations with people I wouldn’t have normally interacted with. I loved it. And I think I felt just the smallest sliver of Miles Davis’ cool.

Ultimately, Miles Davis’ estate changed pricing for the use of that image so it was replaced with a generic jazz image. I closed the account and moved on. Since then I’ve taken a more utility focused approach to my credit card choices, but deep down I wish I could find a plastic that looks as good as that one. So that brings me to the plastic we have for Barclaycard Ring. It’s a popular topic in the community and I wanted to share my thoughts on the potential future of our plastic.

Silly or not, we take pride in and attach some meaning to how our plastic looks. The leader in this area is unquestionably American Express. They have managed to create a presence around their plastics and brand that people are excited and feel good about. Given how important the plastic is to members and given how important our community members are to us, we want to create an open dialogue where we talk about what’s next.